Smiles and Sorrows

So much has happened since I last posted.  We left our house in Flower Mound and relocated to Cleburne where my husband’s coffee shop is located.  I love the old house we live in.  It has large rooms and a kitchen where you could set up a dance floor.  The guest room is all set up and is so comfy I think Bob wants to make it into a man cave–Not happening.  It has a nice sized pantry and laundry room.  My bedroom is long with built in shelves and dressers and closets at the end.  One of them is a shoe closet.  Not that I need one.  My 4 pairs of shoes are very lonely in there since it has shoe shelves floor to ceiling.  There is a sewing room at the back of the house that is all windows so that it is bright and sunny with a huge backyard for Bruno.  There is even a very large workshop in the back that is big enough to fit the boat if we wanted that.  All in all I think the house fits our needs very well and we are comfortable there.  Of course, there are some drawbacks.  One bathroom.  One bathroom?  Really?  It’s a big bathroom, but really?  One bathroom?  Enough said.  Everyone knows that this is a drawback–a drawback to the 50’s.  🙂  Drawback number 2:  Window units and Dearborn heaters.  I actually kind of enjoy the Dearborn heaters.  They are really warm and Bruno will actually whine if they are off for too long.  But, window units are a pain.  We haven’t lived through a 106 degree summer yet, but I’m not looking forward to it.  The biggest drawback of all is that I work in McKinney–a town 76 miles away.  I leave the house every day at 5:45 and I don’t get home most nights until 7:30 or later.  It just makes me feel tired all the time.  I’m looking in this area, but haven’t found anything yet.  Keep your fingers crossed for me!

Our Dearborn heater which heats our living room.

Our Dearborn heater which heats our living room.

shoe closet

Lonely, lonely, shoes…

Moving has made me go through that old closet and believe me I am down to nubbins.  I need some new clothes!  Most of my t-shirts had holes in them.  I secretly still want to keep them, but am planning to buy a couple and then get rid of a couple a little at a time until they are all replaced.  No, really.  I’ve joined a fabric co-op so that I can get busy on those bags, and I’m holding down the weight I lost during my first challenge.

Now for a few sorrows.  My husband had a heart attack in February and had a quadruple bi-pass on Valentine’s Day.  I never knew this was such a long recovery.  The doctor said 6 months to a year!  He’s doing very well and every day is a little better, but I can’t stand to see him suffering.  The difficult thing about heart surgery is that it creates a change in your body, your emotions and your spirit.  It’s like a metamorphosis  where you’re hoping for a butterfly, but you could get a beetle.  Let me just say, it’s mostly butterfly, but the occasional beetle does crawl out from time to time.  🙂  All in all we are walking this walk together and once school is out, I’m going to make new goals.  I believe that the one thing I learned too late was that everything–and I mean everything–needs a plan.  My current plan is to walk through all of these changes in  hope and faith that the path I’m on is the right one.  More specifics to come.

Leave a Reply

