Goal Busters

What are goal busters?  I’ve been thinking about this a lot this week because now that I’m committed to writing this blog and keeping to my 6 month goals, I want to be ready for any goal busters that come my way.  Here’s a few to look out for:

  1. Apathy:  Apathy is when you just say to yourself, “Who cares?  Why should I care?  No one else does.”  So, what do you do? You leave your goals on the sofa with a bag of chips and the remote and do whatever you want.  Apathy is a way to give up and blame someone else in the process.  STAY AWAY FROM APATHY!
  2. Procrastination:  Procrastination says, “Today I’m going to do what I want.  I’ll get back to my goals tomorrow.”  Boy am I guilty of this one.  After all, I’m 50 years old and still tackling my weight problem.
  3. Laziness:  Laziness says, “I’m too tired.  I’ve already worked hard enough.  I don’t feel like it today.”  Not that you don’t need some days when you can just sit back and relax, but when laziness becomes a habit it turns into procrastination and you end up fat, fifty and frustrated.  Oops, was that too strong?  lol
  4. Nay Sayers:  Avoid Nay Sayers at all cost.  These are the people in your life that offer you donuts when they know you’ve sworn off sugar.  They don’t really believe you’re committed to your goals so they don’t even try to help you achieve them.  They also make excuses for you to quit.  They say, “I like you just the way you are.  Don’t work so hard.”  Maybe they’re trying to be nice, but it’s not very helpful.
  5. Depression:  Whenever I get depressed, it’s usually because I haven’t met my goal or I’ve gone backward in my goal, or sometimes an event in my life changes my perspective and leads me down the path to depression.  Depression causes you to devalue yourself or the life you’ve chosen to lead.  Guess where your goals go then?  Down the tubes because we tend to throw the baby out with the bath water.  My life sucks, therefore I don’t need any goals.  Terrible thinking and terrible reasoning.  When you become depressed look to your goals to bring you back up on the path to feeling better about yourself.

I hope that when I get to these points in my goal walk, that I look back at this post and remember the goal busters and stand strong against their evil forces.  You can too.  Don’t let the goal busters control you.  You control your life.  After all, it’s yours to live.

And now for an update:

This week I lost 3.5 lbs!  Yea!  I’m back on track.  That makes 5 lbs altogether since I started.

I have been walking, but not as much as I was.  I need to improve this goal and add drink more water as a side goal.

I’ve been wearing my make up to work.  I had two presentations last week and two people commented on how nice my hair looked.  Check!

My car and countertop have remained clean.  I’m amazed at how attentive I’ve become to these two places.

Still no progress on my closet.  This seems to be my most difficult goal.  I CAN DO IT!  Get away from me procrastination!

My care package goes out on Monday.  It’s all ready to go.  I hope she enjoys it.

I found a pattern and will begin sewing this week.  I figure I can do a couple of bags a week.

I didn’t read the NT this week.  I’ll have to get back on that this week.

I found a painting challenge I like and will begin by taking some pictures of objects by candlelight.

Haven’t signed up for the esl test yet, but will plan for it when I get back from Boston.

Cheers to all of you out there in the blogosphere!  Good luck with your goals this week and don’t give in to the goal busters!

 

One thought on “Goal Busters

Leave a Reply

