Pilgrim’s Progress

Since today is Saturday, I figured it’s time to update you on my progress. Here are the goals for you again with an explanation of progress.

Goal 1: Lose 26 lbs by Christmas.

I lost 3 lbs this week!  Only 23 more to go.  That being said, I also binged on candy, potato chips and icecream all day after that.  Yeah, I know, self-destructive.  Plus, I felt horrible the next morning all achey and sore all over.  But, I’m getting right back to it!

Goal 2: Give the “Couch to 5K” program a shot. This will also help with goal 1. (Also inspired by Kristin by the way)

I haven’t started this program yet, but I have started walking my dog 1 mile in the morning, and one mile at night.  Baby steps for me when it comes to running, but I feel glad about the 2 miles a day.

Goal 3: Wear make-up to work everyday for a month. (I understand that this is not a problem for most, but for me, believe me, it’s a challenge.)

I haven’t really started back to work yet, so no make-up yet.  Officially I go back the third week in August.

Goal 4: Put a system in place in 1 room of the house that keeps it clean all the time. (I can add more rooms later. I want to be able to accomplish this.)

Ok, here’s where you’re going to see some pictures.  I decided to start with my bathroom.  I got out my Martha Stewart “How to Clean Your House” book–Yes I really have that thick volume–and read all about how to take care of the bathroom.  Here are the before and after pictures of my counter top. 

Counter-top Before

Countertop Now Counter-top Now

Goal 5:  Sort through my closet and get rid of clothes that don’t fit or I don’t wear anymore.

I haven’t begun this daunting task yet, but I plan to begin this week.  Ugggh!

Goal 6: Do something nice for someone every month. After Thanksgiving do something nice for someone once a week.

My friend recently lost her mother, so for my July niceity, I’d like to do something for her.  She lives several states away from me.  Any suggestions?

Goal 7: Sew 10 bags for Mill Street Coffee (my husband owns a coffee shop and he’s asked me to do this, but I’ve been putting it off.)

No progress yet.  No excuses either.  🙂

Goal 8: Read the Bible’s New Testament and keep a journal about what I’ve read.

I’ve been looking for just the right journal and haven’t found one, but soon, very soon. 

Goal 9: Begin painting again.

Not Yet

Goal 10: Take the ESL test and pass it.

I’ve taken the 2 day course, but haven’t signed up for the test yet.

All in all, I’ve felt very good about the beginnings of these goals.  Sort of like a pilgrim I guess.  I just think it’s too bad it took me 50 years to get here.  I want to reach the destination before it becomes just a dream.  After all, a dream is a wish your heart makes.  And my heart is pushing me forward.

2 thoughts on “Pilgrim’s Progress

  1. I like this a lot. I set myself some goals for this year, mostly to be more patient with small children (I am getting there), lose some weight (not happening), start running (did a 5k challenge – good, but haven’t run much since -bad), make a dress (just got to sew up the hem). Achieving some of these has made me feel much happier about myself. Good luck with yours, you will do it.

Leave a Reply

