A Bump in the Road and a Broken Wagon

Well, this bump in the road–let’s just call it my lack of commitment–caused me to not only fall off the wagon, but broke the wagon into pieces.  Maybe a wagon wasn’t the best choice in the first place.  The walk would’ve done me good.  I would’ve burned some calories and maybe lifted my spirit along the way too.  I think sometimes I spend way too much time soothing myself with things, that if I would just take time to reason through, I wouldn’t eat in the first place.  Like, for instance that lovely gas station muffin where I read on the label lately that one serving was 1/3 muffin.  Yes, that’s right, 1/3 muffin.  Seriously?  Who in the world eats 1/3 muffin?  I’d eat the whole doggone thing.  Oh, by the way, that 1/3 muffin serving is 230 calories.  That means the whole muffin is a whopping 690 calories.  You’ve got to be kidding me.  See how reason gets in the way of indulging yourself?  Needless to say I won’t be eating one of those again.

My other eye-opener was a Quiznos sandwich.  I love Quiznos and probably could eat one everyday for lunch if incentive was provided.  Until–yes, reason set in.  I decided to look up the nutritional quality of the sandwich.  At first I was pleasantly surprised, but then–dun dun dun–the sandwich was a whopping 1200 calories.  Again I say, “Seriously?”  Needless to say, I won’t be eating Quiznos any more.  Oh, I want to.  I just can’t.

This week I plan to rely on my reason instead of my self-indulgence.  I’m getting off the cart, picking myself up, dusting myself off, putting on my cross-trainers, and reasoning myself right into walking instead of riding my way to a better me.  I can do this.  I just have to be reasonable.  🙂

Leave a Reply

