Resolutions 2012

I was talking with my first graders about resolutions and they decided the best resolution was just to be a nicer person.  Well, I guess that is a great resolution.  We can all afford to be a little nicer to each other, but it’s not very specific.  How am I going to be nicer?  So I decided we needed to look up the definition and post it on our vocabulary board.  Here’s what we came up with–in first grader language.  A resolution is when someone is determined to make a change for the better.  That word DETERMINED caught my attention.  I think I often have good intentions for change.  I often am willing to make a change as long as I don’t have to be DETERMINED to do it.  So then it begs the question:  What can I be determined to do?

Here’s what I’ve decided.  I am going to give myself 3 months.  3 short months.  In those 3 months I am going to change my habits for the better.

  • Habit change 1:  I am going to have something for breakfast everyday, even if it’s just a piece of fruit.
  • Habit change 2:  I will do some type of exercise 3 days a week.  This does not count walking my dog, which I do anyway, unless it’s an extra or longer walk.
  • Habit change 3:  I am going to try to look my best everyday.  This means I will wear mascara, jewelry and nice clothing to work and I won’t stay in my jammies on weekends.
  • Habit change 4:  I will commit to updating this blog every Saturday with trials and successes and hopefully a good story or 2.  🙂

I feel like I can do all of these things for 3 months.  Anyone can do something for 3 months.  Right?  After that I will reevaluate what to do next.  Consider being determined this year as you make your resolutions.  We can be determined together!

Leave a Reply

