A Rebel in Disguise

I’ve been thinking a lot about lifestyle lately.  I’ve decided I’m a rebel.  Not in the goth, wear black lipstick, pierce yourself kind of rebel, but a rebel none the less.  I don’t know what in the world made me think eating anything I want was freedom.  Is it really freedom to eat whatever you want?  For me, I’d have to say it was more like bondage.  Eating whatever I want wasn’t really freedom at all.  Eating whatever I wanted kept me fat, less able to move the way I wanted, let people make judgements about me–true or not–and hurt my self esteem.  So I ask you, was that really freedom?  I realize now I was just rebelling against the rules. 

Rule #1:  Take care of your body.  Taking care of your body doesn’t mean giving it whatever it wants.  When you give a child whatever it wants it becomes unruly and spoiled.  I’ve found my body has the same reaction.  For many years, my body has been unruly and spoiled.  I don’t think it ever made me happy to be in this condition, it was just easier.  And, I certainly wasn’t free. 

Rule #2:  Listen to your doctor.  My doctor has told me for years that I needed to lose weight, but since I am basically a healthy person, I ignored what he said.  Oh yes, I gave lip service, took meds, exercised for awhile, lost a few pounds, but I wasn’t really dedicated to making the commitment to follow rule #1.  After all I wanted my freedom.  But as the old adage goes, “Freedom isn’t free.”

Rule #3 Respect yourself:  This may be the most important rule of all.  Respecting yourself isn’t just being confident–I am.  It isn’t just doing what you please whenever you please–I did.  It’s understanding that what you do with your life is more than doing whatever you want whenever you want.  Respecting yourself means making a difference in your own life and in the lives of others.  I felt like I had the others part down.  I cared about others, prayed for those who needed it, and tried to be a good person, but when you leave out the part of respecting yourself, something just doesn’t ring true with the rest of it.

So, I’m facing the fact today that I’m a rebel.  I guess that can work to my advantage at times, but when it comes to my health, I realize it really wasn’t freedom at all.  It was rebellion.  I’m done with rebellion.  It doesn’t treat me nice.  From here on out, I’m following the rules:  Take care of your body, Listen  to your doctor, and Respect yourself.  Hey, I may as well give it try.  What’ve I got to lose?  Except maybe a few or a lot of pounds and inches.  🙂

2 thoughts on “A Rebel in Disguise

Leave a Reply

