Bad Habits for Good Habits

Well, the summer’s almost over and guess what I’ve found out?  Most of my friends have really dropped the weight this summer!  Now I’m the one who’s behind.  I just read an article about a man who lost 177 lbs in 11 months.  Here’s the link if you’re interested http://www.cnn.com/2011/HEALTH/07/29/nevin.weight.loss.irprt/index.html?eref=igoogledmn_topstories.  Do you know how he did it?  Exercise and proper diet. DUH.  No hCG, no ultra-low calorie diets,  but by changing his bad habits for good habits.  I’ve lost 22lbs altogether, and of course I feel much better than I did, but now comes the uphill part where I have to change my bad habits for good ones.  It’s not about will power people.  It’s about changing your bad habits for good ones.

Anyway, seeing my friends really motivated me to get off the truck and walk to my next destination.  🙂  I bought a pedometer and I’m not going to set any step goals except that I want to do more steps every day.  I don’t care if it’s just 2 more steps than yesterday.  I want to change my bad habit of couch potato into the good habit of taking a walk after work.  The second bad habit I’m going to change into a good one is water consumption.  I bought a water bottle that holds enough water for the whole day.  I fill it about half full at night  and put it in the freezer.  Then I add water on top in the morning.  It stays cold almost all day and I just carry it with me wherever I go.

I know that I have to start small.  If I give myself too many changes at once, nothing changes at all.  They say it takes 27 days to change a habit.  We’ll see.  🙂

Leave a Reply

