A New Sacrifice

It’s too bad that it took 49 years for me to understand that being organized is not only a good thing, but essential.  I’ve always been kind of a creative person, a global thinker, a maverick.  Yes, I’ve heard all of those descriptions.  What they really mean is you’re a likeable person who is disorganized.  I have to say, I am creative, I do think globally, and I do have my own ideas about things, but none of these things have to be absent of organization.  In recent years, maybe because of my age, I’ve found it necessary to be more organized–even if I didn’t quite follow through.  Since I quit sugar, I’ve had to plan my meals and you know what I found out?  I’m saving money!  I only buy the things I need.  I almost never eat out.  Eating out costs A LOT!  And, I’m more satisfied with my meal.

Now the Lenten season has arrived and I was searching for some sacrifice in my life.  I often give up sugar, but I’ve already done that.  My husband is in the coffee business, so it wouldn’t do to give up coffee.  I like to do something for lent that sets a new pattern in my life, something that helps me to become somehow better in some way.  When I started to think about sacrifice in this way I thought, “I need to set a new pattern of organization in my life.”  I knew it had to be baby steps, so I looked up on one of those organization sites for what to start with.  Here’s what I decided.

1.  I will not go to bed until my kitchen is clean.  All dishes done, counters wiped off.

2.  I will do at least one load of laudry a day:  washed, dried, and put away.

3.  I will chip away bit by bit at the projects that are unfinished.

Not too hard right?  Well for those of you who consistently do this it might seem silly, but for me it was a challenge.  I have to tell you.  I like it!  I love when I get up in the morning and my kitchen is clean and fresh.  I love when I go to my drawers that there are clothes in them.  Usually my clean clothes are stacked on the dryer.  At the same time I’m building habits that are good for my whole family.  I’m making them stick to the rules too.

Let me encourage you.  Take baby steps.  Choose one thing.  Do it consistently.  Don’t give in to, “I’ll do it later.”  If I can change my life at 49, anyone can do it at any age.  Good luck on your journey.  Wish me luck on mine.  😀

2 thoughts on “A New Sacrifice

  1. I think these are great goals! Putting away clean laundry is something that I struggle with, too. Isn’t it amazing how much better you feel when it’s done?

Leave a Reply

