Habits

Today as I was eating at my favorite salad restaurant, I felt a little sad.  When I go to a restaurant, I always have my favorite thing on their menu and restaurants that I visit often I have a habit of ordering the same thing every time I go.  Back to the salad place.  At this salad place I always have strawberry shortcake for dessert.  I like it a lot because it has chunks of pound cake and then you scoop strawberry sauce over the top and on top of the strawberry sauce is whipped cream.  I looked at the dessert bar with sadness because I knew, even though it is my habit to have that treat, that today I wasn’t going to have it.  Habits are hard to break and a certain sadness comes when you have to break them.  So I thought to myself that I had to form a new habit, a new lifestyle takes sacrifice and change and today was one small sacrifice to a better life for myself.  I perused the fruit bar and saw some wonderfully juicy orange slices and put 4 or 5 on my plate in place of the strawberry shortcake.  You know, I think I enjoyed them even better knowing that I’m now making better choices for my life, but they were delicious anyway.  It’s been 21 days and 7lbs are now gone, all because I gave up sugar.  I haven’t exercised any more than I ever did.  All I’ve done is altered my sugar intake.  I’m sure exercise is somewhere in my future, but why rush things?  🙂

2 thoughts on “Habits

  1. This is great! You know, because you are a habitual person you will be VERY successful at this. It takes a healthy lifestyle/habits to maintain a reasonable weight and I know you can do it! I’m so proud of you every day!

Leave a Reply

