A Long Long Time Ago…

Weight is an up and down roller coaster ride isn’t it?  You lose.  You gain.  You lose again.  You gain back even more.  I lost a few pounds last year and kept about 5 of the 20 I lost off.  Something to be thankful for I guess. 

My daughter and I are now on a quest to quit sugar.  Oh, we still eat natural sugars like fruit, but we are even giving up diet soda.  It has a lot of salt and can make you crave sugar all over again.  I’m cooking more at home–economizing as much as cutting down on calories, but I like to cook and then I can better control my sugars too.  I think it might be good to post some recipes or things that work as I go along, so check back for updates. 

 This week I’ve been eating a lot of soup.  Not the soup diet, just different kinds:  chicken and vegetable, tomato, bean, potato.  Yeah I know, that’s a lot of soup.  Tonight I decided I needed a change, so I ate a little chicken salad with crackers.  Delicious!  Especially when you’ve been eating soup all week. 

Today is DAY 4 for me, DAY 6 for Dolly.  Wish us luck!  Maybe I’ll take off another 20 and go down 5 more.  🙂

2 thoughts on “A Long Long Time Ago…

  1. I wish you the best of luck on this journey. I myself started a similar journey last January and I know how difficult it can be. I still have not lost as much weight as I would like but I have not given up. One thing I would like to suggest to you is to try a natural sugar substitute called Stevia. It was the only way I could begin taking on my challenge of cutting back on soda. I say cutting back becuase I have not lost it for good. But if I have a glass of tea with some Stevia I don’t need that soda. I love that. Again, I wish you the best of luck and have fun with those first graders.

  2. Thanks for the advice and for your support. Life changes are tough. It’s good to hear from people who are walking the same road. Good luck to us both as we begin to see ourselves as something new. 🙂

Leave a Reply

